Two nights ago I went to see a friend in Columbus that I hadn’t seen since the beginning of August. I showed up after I worked around 11 p.m. or so and we talked and eventually made our way a block or two down High Street and found some macaroni. He made some wonderful dish around midnight and we sat around and ate and watched a sci-fi movie that I hadn’t seen. The night went on until I simply couldn’t stay awake anymore. I fell asleep on his couch in the warm air of the upstairs apartment.

I drove back on the Interstate playing the 70 mph game of musical chairs that one expects around Columbus and its sprawl. My form of proletariat rebellion that day was cutting off a Mercedes SUV as it was trying to pass me. Karl Marx would be proud.

Leave a Reply

