It’s cool here in Hanoi this time of year. I’ve never been in this country at this time of year, but the weather is surprising me. I’ve had to wear flannel PJ pants to bed and the other night I could even be found in a sweater. And then today is the second day (the first was in May) that I’ve had to wear a jacket in Hanoi.

Today is an official day where I’m at the MCC office and learning a little about the history of MCC in Vietnam and I also had a quick lesson in finances and how to keep track of money when a person is working for MCC.

Yesterday afternoon was surreal experience number two while in Vietnam. The first was last May when a few of us were at an Irish place and they were singing Irish folk songs in the middle of Ho Chi Minh City. This time was something sort of similar. Ruth, Lowell, and myself when to go see a production of A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Forum. At least I think that’s the correct title. But we saw that musical in a small theatre behind the grand old opera house here in Hanoi. Thinking about it now is strange: a play in English, with a mostly ex-pat, English-speaking cast and audience, but in the midst of Hanoi. I suppose it’s really not that unusual, but some things of that caliber are just interesting to think about.

Leave a Reply

