I’ve been in Long Xuyen for two full days now. My suitcase is mostly unpacked and my room is finding some sort of order. I’m enjoying myself here in the sun and warm weather. The last couple of days here have been full of meetings; setting up language school, trying to find a computer monitor, how much will I teach next semester, etc.

I woke up a little late this morning and went out to the coffee shop where I usually have had breakfast every time that I’ve been here. I was looking for an empty table when someone waved me over to his. It was the driver that had picked Lowell and myself up from the airport in Ho Chi Minh City. He spoke perhaps two words of English, but we fumbled around and communicated a bit. I thought it was a slight bit strange. Here I was, I didn’t really know this man at all, we couldn’t communicate properly, yet he was inviting me to sit and have coffee with him. Everyone at the table was smiling.

2 thoughts on “”

  1. Hey old Friend. Glad to see you made it to Indochina. Sounds like the madness has begun again. Just finishing up finals here. Coffee, the Jay, etc. to keep the mind motivated. Can’t wait for break, I’ll probably sleep for a week. Oh, beautiful Hanoi, how I miss her her energy and youthfulness. Motorbikes, truly God’s chariot. I’ve been out walking, I do to much talking these days, these days, I seem to think a lot about the things I forgot to do, and all the times I had the chance too…So goes, so goes…and like a dream…Peace

  2. I suddenly find myself missing Vietnam, especially Long Xuyen. It’s funny, the temples were beautiful and the markets fascinating, but my most memorable experiences in Vietnam were the ones that included me sipping iced coffee in Long Xuyen and observing the comings and goings of everyday life.I envy you. -Mandella

Leave a Reply

