I sit here watching Jota stretch and get settled. I chew Wrigley’s Doublemint and listen to radio programs from the America. Sometimes I worry about the future, but that’s mainly concern about teaching here and what it will entail. Sometimes I practice my Vietnamese vocabulary by typing out words and conversations in Vietnamese. Sometimes I just read. I read novels set in America which in turn makes me think about places that I’ve been and places that I’d like to go. Reading too much seems to make me overly reflective, and sometimes I don’t want to think too much, so then I avoid reading.

My room has gradually become more cluttered and messy, making it feel slightly more like a living space; more like a home. Sometimes I sit and think about old friends and then write half a letter, which then never gets finished. Mostly, I just end up thinking a lot, and thinking takes up so much time that when I’m finished thinking it’s time to go and find something to eat.

4 thoughts on “”

  1. O Eric Burdette! How I miss you! Bluffton University is just not the same without you scolding me for something. Give Jota a hug for me and you will perhaps be getting some mail from me in the near-ish future.

  2. Hello Eric, it is Rachael Szyd. I hope all is well in Vietnam. I am so excited that you are there. I am planning several trips to Vietnam. My first trip will be November/December 05 for my thesis research and then June/July of 06 as my graduation gift to my self, traveling through SEA. I really hope you are enjoying yourself. When I come to Vietnam I hope to be able to come down to visit you!

  3. Hello Eric, it is Rachael Szyd. I hope all is well in Vietnam. I am so excited that you are there. I am planning several trips to Vietnam. My first trip will be November/December 05 for my thesis research and then June/July of 06 as my graduation gift to my self, traveling through SEA. I really hope you are enjoying yourself. When I come to Vietnam I hope to be able to come down to visit you!

Leave a Reply

