I went out with some teachers from the English department last night and we had a good dinner which was followed by a trip to one of the newest coffee shops in town. My language teacher came along and so did a man from Japan who’s doing research for his PhD. The problem is that I still don’t know much Vietnamese. I could understand a few things that were said, and was able to stumble over a phrase or two that made people laugh, but it’s just not there yet. Sometimes I wonder if I’m making much progress–I know how to spell words, but I can’t hear them.

This weekend will be spent working up a rough outline for a lesson plan for my English speaking classes. I start teaching on Monday. I’m very nervous about this, and I hope things will go smoothly.

Leave a Reply

