Yesterday afternoon I taught a very enthusiastic class. I’ve mentioned before that I’m teaching only speaking, not listening, and so I always try to get all the students talking. I let them go on break between periods and was just about to leave for the teachers room for a quick cup of tea. There are a few very outgoing students in this class however, and one of them just asked if they could talk to us outside of the classroom. I couldn’t be opposed to that, so that’s what we did, just stood there and talked with each other.

I think just the act of sitting down (or standing up) and having a conversation with them for a few minutes was as valuable as an hour of class time in terms of simply listening and practicing what they’ve been studying to do for so many years: communicate in English. I only wish that more of the class would be willing to simply have a chat.

Leave a Reply

