Back to teaching. Friday was a particularly hot day, in my opinion, and I had to teach seven of the ten periods that day. By 4:30 in the afternoon I was dripping with sweat. I’m not sure if I’ve ever sweated that much in my life. There was a sheer exhaustion that came with teaching on that day, something with trying to get students who know English as a second language to understand Ginsburg, or have them fully understand the context of Beowulf. I think I’ll really enjoy these classes later on, especially when the weather cools down. I know I’ve written about this before, about the moment when something complex all of a sudden clicks with the students, and you can see something in their faces and feel like you’ve accomplished something. That makes a day.

This past weekend has flown by in a whirlwind of invitations to coffees and meals. Now it’s Sunday night and I’m thinking that I have to get up early and go to work tomorrow. Right now my teaching schedule is very light, and things will pick up when I have to start teaching TOEFL reading classes in about a month. Right now I have a lot of time for preparing, and a lot of time for thinking too. I can think carefully about what I want to teach and when I want to teach it, etc. This is especially true with the British literature class that I’m teaching. It feels really wonderful to be able to teach something that I studied for some time.

I’m sorta mentally preparing for a trip to Hanoi to see Ruth and Lowell, my country representatives for MCC, and several new volunteers as well. Meeting people, however, is not what I’m mentally preparing for. I’m trying to think what it will be like to try to speak and understand simple Vietnamese (what I can do here) and not being understood and/or understanding. The accent is different, some words are different, and there is a tone that sounds different up in Hanoi. I’m only going to be there for a few days, but regardless it will be rather interesting to see what I can and cannot understand. But like the rambler that I am, I always enjoy a trip for a few days.

Leave a Reply

