On Sunday afternoon my stomach wasn’t feeling very great. I had eaten some light foods and then I was lying on my couch. I dozed off for about 20 minutes. I had a dream. A vision. A vision of pizza.

I knew that this vision was a sign that I needed to embark on a quest. A quest for pizza in the Mekong Delta.

There are two towns, each about 60 km away from Long Xuyen, where a person can buy pizza. I choose to go to Can Tho because I’d been there before and knew how to find the pizza place (as a random digression, Can Tho is also a pretty big city; the fifth biggest in Vietnam).

I didn’t have any classes today, so I went out for a slightly late breakfast. Then I went to have the chain on the motorbike adjusted for the trip. My parents recently bought me a subscription to The Week magazine, and one had just arrived so I took it home and read it ravenously for nearly an hour before Sharla was done teaching for the day. Then we decided to go. Learning from my previous trip, I wore a long-sleeved shirt for protection from the sun.

The signs say it’s 60 km to Can Tho, but the road is rather narrow and has very heavy traffic at times. We rolled out of Long Xuyen at about 10:30 a.m. and finally arrived at the pizza place at about noon after several glances at death, usually in the form of a bus passing another vehicle and facing the motorbike head-on.

Sharla and I ate our pizzas on the small balcony of the restaurant. We had a view of the river and also saw lots of tourists walking around in the sun and eating in the restaurant at other tables. When we finished we ordered three more pizzas to take home with us (for Tyler, Steven, and Kerry, who is a fellow volunteer with Tyler and Sharla in the VIA program and happened to be visiting).

The three pizzas actually fit into the little box on the back of my motorbike. And we were off… to the grocery store. We found some Oreos and Starburst, as well as some other things like a toothbrush and deodorant. Also, there were little ice cream cones available at the store which we couldn’t resist.

Finally back on the bike for the return trip which included some crooning by Sharla behind me. The kilometers seemed to be going by slowly as we were both rather uncomfortable after being on the bike for so long. It was wonderful to get back to Long Xuyen, and the others were grateful for the pizzas. And I discovered I had sunburn on my toes, neck, and the backs of my hands.

Leave a Reply

