Back to full time teaching again. It’s not that I don’t enjoy it, it’s just that days seem easily consumed by it. Furthermore, I’ve heard rumors circulating that the rainy season is upon us now. The rain at this point in the year is a blessing because of the way it dispels the heat, but the other edge of the sword is that the humidity levels go up as well.

I’m pretty much the only foreigner here at AGU who is still teaching now. Tyler finishes on Friday and Steven and Sharla are done already. And I’ll be the only one who continues to teach until halfway through June. It may be a rather lonely experience, but, it’s what I signed up for. When I came here I had no idea how much I would come to depend on the other foreigners for support; with teaching, and with life in general. Now we’re all here together in this strange little unit that I like to call a dysfunctional family and somehow we get along and survive. It’s so strange. I came here not knowing who or what to expect, and now I’m to a point where life would be so very empty without these other people who speak English and live around me.

Leave a Reply

