This morning I grabbed a quick coffee before my 7 a.m. class. Then I taught for an hour and a half and met some colleagues for breakfast and coffee. Then I was driving to my room to get my computer and heard a yell: “Eric!! Coffee!!” So after getting my computer, I went for coffee. After that coffee I went to the office and sat down for about 15 minutes, when another guy poked his head in the door and said, “Hey Eric, you want to get coffee?” How could I refuse? I was on a roll. I should note that “Going for coffee” in Vietnam does not always mean that you’ll actually drink coffee, there are many other options available, and I usually stick to lemonade, lemon tea, or some drink made of ground-up leaves (I’m not really sure what they are or look like, because I’m always just drinking the stuff, not eating it). And, as any person that’s been to Vietnam knows, most drinks come with lots of sugar. Sometimes when I’m at cafes that are notorious for adding too much sugar, I’ll tell the person there that I just want a little sugar.

After my “lunch hour” which is usually more like three, I came back to the office and one of the first things on the agenda was to go and drink coffee.

Leave a Reply

