It’s still raining here!! I can’t believe this is still happening. The newspapers this morning showed pictures of this typhoon blasting the central coast of Vietnam and then crossing over Laos and Thailand before dying out. I was actually cold in the office this morning after driving through the light rain and then sitting in a very air conditioned office.

Perhaps it’s something with all these clouds and rain. Perhaps it just goes with this time of year. I just feel like there are forces working against me. I’m doing the best that I can here, but sometimes I feel like some people are trying to undermine my efforts. Maybe it’s all just in my head and I’m imagining things. I can’t imagine deserting my students and friends here at AGU/Long Xuyen, no matter how awful things become. If you were to look at me and my teaching and what I’m doing here now, ostensibly everything looks great. Even I can’t find anything wrong. Perhaps it’s just some strange conspiracy theory that has taken shape in my mind and now I can’t get rid of it. I just want a little sun back.

Leave a Reply

