The sun is now shining more than before. It was warm and bright after I finished my class this morning and wandered into the library looking for Hendrik to have a coffee with me. I was tired, despite the fact that I went to bed at 10:30 last night. I went to my evening class last night to find out that my class had finished and I didn’t get a chance to say goodbye to my students, but I was glad that I didn’t have to teach anymore at night. Actually, before I got to my classroom at night I stopped by the office to grab a pen. From down the hall I saw that the light was on. When I opened the door my colleague, Lam, was sitting there working, and his little daughter was standing and kind of dancing around on a chair while she watched English kids songs on a computer screen. She’s always shy around me, but gave me a wide-eyed wave goodbye as I was stepping out of the office. Later on, after I found out about my class being over, I stayed up and played computer games with Tyler and Steven and then did some last-minute lesson planning before bed.

Class was good this morning; a lot of listening which probably made the students tired. But I’m excited about using these new materials, and I hope the students enjoy something that’s a little different. As usual, the office was filled with smiles and jokes this morning. I gave an extra handout for my music class to one of my office colleagues and he was gleeful as he listened to Simon and Garfunkel and asked me about meanings of words and phrases while I read the news from America.

Leave a Reply

