Late this afternoon, a woman popped into the office with something wrapped in newspaper. One of my colleagues, a woman named Linh, went and picked it up. The package was full of marshmallows!! Dr. Xuan, the president of the university, had just recently returned from America and brought some back. It was weird tasting them. All of my time over here, I’ve craved and am craving many foods, but I have never really thought twice about marshmallows. Tyler happened to be in the office with me, and we looked in a dictionary, and discovered the Vietnamese word is literally “soft candy.” However, I never really have liked “raw” marshmallows, so I didn’t eat very many, and that was more than enough for me.

Leave a Reply

