Over the past few days I’ve been in the town of Da Lat up in the mountains, about a 7 hour bus ride from Ho Chi Minh City. I’m staying at the cheapest hotel ever, but I can’t complain about the four-dollar a night price. I’ve been getting in some really good nights of sleep, and I’m saying that this cooler air is responsible. I’ve just kinda been hanging out, which I haven’t done for such a long time. I’m on a cowboy-boot-wearing streak too, and at this point it’s more than 4 days of only wearing cowboy boots. Driving in this night air here really reminds me of fall at home, and then my thoughts turn towards real, true cold, which I haven’t known anything about for two years.

I’ve decided that tomorrow morning I’m going to start my slow progression back to Long Xuyen and head down the mountain and down south to Ho Chi Minh City and the heat and the madness of the traffic there. But I will miss driving in these hills with the cool wind on my face and the smell of pine trees around me.

Leave a Reply

