The beginning of my final year in Vietnam. I’ve finally reached the point in my term where events are seen as my last. I’ve had my last Christmas and New Year in Vietnam. I’m beginning my last spring semester now, and on and on… I won’t be leaving until December, but this is now my last year here; sad, scary and exciting all at the same time.



New Year’s Eve was quite a night, with good friends coming over to celebrate with us at the guesthouse. The actual moment of the New Year, at midnight, was celebrated on the roof with sparklers, confetti, and even some silly string that Tyler found at a local bookstore. It was also the night of text messaging wishes, as I received at least 100 messages from students, colleagues and friends. And of course, the traditional New Year’s feast was served at Mr. Scott’s house, about 25km away in the neighboring province. I ate so much turkey that I didn’t want to move and nearly fell asleep before I drove back home to prepare for classes.

Leave a Reply

