There’s been a light drizzle throughout the day today. A perfect day for staying at home with Buong, my cat. Last evening, although it was six days late, we finally ate the sauerkraut that I’d been keeping in my room since the middle of December. For as long as I can remember, I’ve eaten sauerkraut on New Year’s Day with my family. But since my family isn’t here, the least I can do is eat sauerkraut. We cooked up mashed potatoes with real butter and UHT milk, and I was in charge of cooking the sausages and sauerkraut. Sausages have been available in Long Xuyen for a few months now; they’re made in Vietnam and ain’t too bad. Sometimes we fry them up with onions and green peppers and eat them on white bread with mustard, and it’s quite a treat. But anyhow, we ate them last night as a late celebration for the new year. Like last year when we ate the sour cabbage, I invited a friend/colleague over who studied with me at Bluffton College. While she lived there she acquired a taste for sauerkraut. So, the two times when we’ve cooked and eaten it, I’ve invited her over. We ate until we were stuffed and sat around laughing and telling stories before it got late. I woke up this morning to the drizzling rain and a cat nose touching my nose.

Leave a Reply

