I woke up in the middle of the night last night with horrible stomach cramps and they’ve stayed with me through most of this morning. The suspected cause: bacon or a kind of Vietnamese bologna from yesterday. Regardless, I was up for breakfast this morning. I was supposed to visit a neighboring province with a friend but had to cancel over breakfast.



I was going home after breakfast and decided to swing by the grand opening of the first big supermarket, or “business center” in Long Xuyen. I had the appearance of near complete pandemonium. The traffic police had were not letting any vehicles drive past the main road. I got as close as I could and saw what appeared to be a ceremonial dragon dance, perhaps to celebrate the opening. I’m sure I won’t be able to get near it for several days now.

Leave a Reply

