The lull of summer is now here. My workload is low and the rains fall occasionally to cool things down. As I mentioned before, Tyler is gone, and this weekend will find Hendrik and Lillian gone as well, which leaves Steven and I. And Steven will be gone by the end of this month. I’ll be back in nearly the same situation I was in August of 2005, when I was here and had to help all the new volunteers acclimate and help them out with living in Long Xuyen. Do things change or just repeat themselves? So this summer looks like I’ll be here, for the most part alone, with my thoughts and my cat trying to make sense of my life.

I’m looking forward to doing more reading and writing, though now I believe my writing will have to be held within my room as all previous letters that I’ve mailed have gone unanswered. I’ve gotten back in touch with a few old friends from the states which is very nice and it’s strange for me to think back to the places that were once familiar but now I can’t remember them. Memory unused falls into disrepair.

Here’s a good song about remembering the past: Bob Dylan’s Dream

Leave a Reply

