Last night I couldn’t sleep. Last night the guest house was completely deserted. Last night I was the only foreigner on the campus of AGU. It started when I was looking at pictures of the past few months and realized some great times that I had here with this weird mixture of nationalities and personalities at AGU. Thinking back, there weren’t too many activities that I could actually list, but there was a presence of people to talk to about anything. Last night was the first night in about a year that no one came to my room to talk or hang out. And the rest of the house was completely deserted. It was roaring with silence in my ears, and then the knowledge that it was silent made louder in my head. Times change. Things don’t stay the same. But the memories are strong. Buong, my cat, was my company. He purred and licked my nose and fell asleep next to me. But I still couldn’t sleep.

Leave a Reply

