It’s an overcast day here in Long Xuyen.

Someone told me that there is a tropical storm somewhere and that’s the reason behind all of the cloud-cover and drizzling rain. I like the cooler temperatures, but of course rain leads to mud in this area, or at least lots of wet sand.

I’m beginning the fifth week of the semester, and I’m just about exactly three months from going home, and I can’t shake the feeling that I’m doing nothing productive with my time here. I don’t have the motivation that I had last year, and I seem to just be going through the motions of everything. And I can’t pinpoint the problem. I thought it might be frustration, or maybe some parasite that’s sapping all my energy, but I don’t think it really comes down to those things. Or maybe it’s just this time of year when I seem to consistently feel down. Maybe it’s even the plea for communication with my younger brother that has gone unheeded and left me feeling frustrated. I suppose it could be numerous things and I’m no psychology major, that’s for sure.

There still remain many great things that come from living in Long Xuyen, like making students giggle or understand something in class, or having a good conversation with one of the other volunteers, or just running into an old friend that I haven’t seen for awhile. It’s this lack of motivation in terms of my work that is bothering me the most though.

Leave a Reply

