Today marks three years since I arrived in Vietnam. Three years. Yep, I’ve been in this country, calling Long Xuyen my home, for three years now. I’m extremely busy at the moment, trying to finish teaching, write final exams, and say goodbye to all of the friends that I’ve made over the years. As a matter of fact, I have to run to another meal in a few minutes because a friend of mine is cooking spaghetti.

I don’t even have that much time to contemplate that I’ve been here all this time. When I started working here I wasn’t even sure that I’d be here for a complete three years, now I realize that I’m one of the few volunteers to remain here for this amount of time without ever having gone home, or to another Western country for that matter. Yeah, at this point Long Xuyen is my home, and that’s going to lead to problems when I’m back in Ohio and struggling to remember why I’m back there. But for now I have to put those thoughts out of my mind and have fun during my final 2 weeks and 3 days in Vietnam…

Leave a Reply

