I was an emotional farewell for me in Long Xuyen on Saturday. From about 8:30 a.m. until I left at 11 a.m. there were students either in my room or outside the guesthouse waiting for me. When I finally came down with all of my luggage and started to load it into the van, I saw that several students had tears in their eyes. Then several of them ran up to hug me, and this made me start crying as well. One other student of mine said he’d “hug the tears out of me,” but this didn’t work either. I’m surprised that I was able to leave at all…

Now I’m in HCMC and I just had my final interview/report with MCC, I have my ticket home, and students and people in Long Xuyen are still sending me text messages saying how much they miss me. Leaving Long Xuyen, and even thinking about it now, is like tearing a piece of something deep inside my gut out and throwing it away. It hurts. and I have to ask myself, is it really necessary? Sure, I’d like to go home to Ohio, but Long Xuyen is my home now, at least in my mind. I was talking to a friend the other day, and I had to mention that I have more friends in Long Xuyen than in Ohio, or even in America for that matter. Why? I’m not sure, but as it stands now, that is a fact.

Currently I leave Vietnam in two days.

Here’s my last glimpse of the land of An Giang…

Leave a Reply

