This past week was a lot of late nights followed by early mornings. I’d try to sleep, and end up staying up till 1 a.m., only to wake up at 6 a.m. and then repeat the process. I did that for five days, and then on Friday night I felt exhausted at 8 p.m., but somehow kept myself awake until about 2 a.m., and then was woken up around 10 a.m. by a phone call from another country. Some of the friends called me from Vietnam. I spoke to old friends that lived in the same house, the same town, the same region where I lived up until about a month ago. I spoke Vietnamese for the first time since I’ve been back in Ohio, and it was strange doing it the first thing after waking up too. Those people that I talked to were my life not too long ago. A month ago I would’ve been with all of them at that table in the warm night air near the canal joking and smiling before getting on my motorbike and roaring home.

Leave a Reply

