Twenty-five years now. Days when events such as birthdays arrive, I usually end up wondering what I’ve done with my life so far and what will happen later. This time around the event marked a quarter of a century. I have to wonder how many more I have left in me. I hope two more, but we’ll see. And what have I done so far? I finished college, so I guess that’s an accomplishment. I finished an MCC term in another culture and made a ton of good friends and I hope I had a positive influence on students (I got several birthday greetings from Vietnam, including a powerpoint presentation). I feel like I’m not doing my part to help the world at this current job, but I am gaining experience here. I need to get out into the world, that’s what I want to do with the next quarter century. I want to be there, on the ground, in some place that needs my service and knowledge. Vietnam needed me, Mount Vernon Ohio can limp along into the future just fine without me I believe.

So I’m 25, healthy, educated, and I guess that’s all pretty good. I should consider myself lucky, and I do. But sometimes is seems that I’m falling behind certain peers who’ve met fortunes far better than mine. Which is why I need to start exploring the future and see where it leads…

Leave a Reply

