Well, yesterday was Memorial Day, and although I had to work, that day, it turned out pretty good. I must say that I couldn’t have had a much more “American” day since my return to this country. What follows is a list of the stereotypical stuff that a true patriotic American does on a day like Memorial Day:

-I went to see a small-town parade and ceremony in a cemetery to honor veterans. (This was my work for the day, so I had to take pictures and write an article about it too).

-We had a cookout at home with some of the extended family.

-We went to a baseball game in Columbus (the Clippers lost unfortunately…)

-There were fireworks after the baseball game.

So there ya have it: my first Memorial Day back from Vietnam (freedom-hating commies according to many; more free than the U.S. according to me), and I was just about as truly “American” as you can get.

Leave a Reply

