It was one of those insomnia nights last night. And to make things a little more interesting it was raining and the thunder was booming and there was lightning flashing. After spending a fair amount of time lying around in the sticky humidity and not meeting my friend sleep, I walked outside to have a look at the lightning that was all around.

The house was pitch black and the small green LED lights in the smoke alarms illuminated light-green circles on the hallway carpets as I walked through the house. I made it out into the drive way and noticed that the lightning to the northwest was flashing in a definite rhythm with no thunder that reached my ears; a rhythm that continued the entire time I was out there puffing on my cigarette.

After some time I came inside, had a glass of water and turned on the TV. There were no weather warnings like the TV usually broadcasts when clouds or rain appears in the area, so I watched late-night shows that I never really get around to any more, and eventually the rain started to fall steadily and soothingly, with few flashes and booms punctuating the calmness of the falling drops.

Finally sleep came, and it was much too late when it arrived. I’m not sure what I can blame it on: a short nap after work, a tad bit of indigestion, a mind that can’t be fenced in… But I was woken by a jolt of an alarm this morning and stumbled downstairs for coffee, hoping that insomnia wouldn’t strike again tonight.

Leave a Reply

