On why I’m leaving

Quality of Life
Life, as I’ve rediscovered it in Ohio, is sub par. Sure there are nice people, but there is no community and connections are very hard to forge. I seem to find that everyone here is stuck doing the same things that they’ve done for ages, and because of this repetition their souls and intellect have decayed to the point of never wanting to try new things or to open their minds to different perspectives. I think of T.S. Eliot’s theories as I go through my routines and see everyone else doing the same thing they’ve been doing for god knows how long and wonder why people can bear to put up with it all. Also, winter isn’t as romantic as I remember

Cost of living
This is the most frustrating aspect of life in America. I can’t afford to regularly go out for coffee or meals if I ever hope to save any money. I can’t afford to travel to see friends because transportation costs. Luckily, I’ve been able to live rent-free for the time I’ve been here, and I’m grateful for this money-saving scheme. I can’t believe the costs associated with some rather basic products and services and the wages that I receive in this hopeless state. I make eight dollars an hour as a reporter, and then I took the second job delivering pizzas at seven dollars per hour. When you factor in the price of gas and food and other necessities, I can understand why some people simply give up. For one example of the costs here, I paid 200 dollars for a local shop to frame two pictures, and when I brought them home, they weren’t even assembled well and I had to finish the job at home. Another example is tires. I had to pay nearly $320 for tires on the car when they needed replaced. And this brings me to by next point.

Transportation
I cannot believe the costs associated with just getting around in this nation. Couple this with the complete lack of transportation options in this nation, and you end up throwing money into a bottomless hole known as a gas tank. And then there are all the stupid little costs associated with a car as well: expensive insurance (even though I’ve never had an accident and never been charged with speeding), titles, registration and numerous fees that various entities impose in order to finance their overbloated staff and governments.

Friends
A good number of friends lost contact with me when I was gone before, and some barely acknowledge that I’ve returned. Numerous people that I’ve called friends – I love you dearly – but the fire and idealism and passion that once attracted me to you has faded from your eyes and your souls. So many of you seem like empty and passionless shells of the people I knew previously; you accept the status quo without question and believe that this way of meaningless existence is the American Dream; you are unwilling to take bold chances or expand your horizons, and I long for the people I previously knew and loved. I am proof that there is a better way of life available to you overseas, away from this highly-regulated version of what the American government wants you to think is the American Dream and a good life. I strongly advocate that you re-assess your situation and ask yourself if the life you have now is the life that you want forever. And if you change your mind and decide to leave this country for a better life, I will support you totally and completely.

Leave a Reply

