New Computer

I bought a new computer yesterday and I’ve been wasting a lot of time playing around and setting up all of my favorite programs and getting back into the swing of things. This is the first thing that I’ve written on it that’s more than a sentence or two long. I think I like the feel of the keyboard…

I happen to be sitting in the faculty room of an English center in Long Xuyen and a Filipino is teaching English on the other side of the room. This center markets foreign teachers, but the only thing that’s really marketable about Filipino teachers is that they can’t speak Vietnamese. Listening to the accent, stress and intonation of Filipino English, reminds me that they are certainly not native-speaking teachers. And the ones that I’ve encountered always use the phrase: “Meaning to say…” in class. It annoys me.

Leave a Reply

