Paha Sapa

I was walking to work this morning and thought about the Black Hills out in South Dakota.

I used to live a couple hours drive away from there, and every time my parents drove me to Rapid City I could judge how far away we were by looking at the dark hills on the horizon.  My parents used to have friends that lived in the hills, and we used to go camping there as well.  The pine trees surrounding you smell incredibly fresh and I used to love exploring in the forests when I could, crunching around on all the pine needles and cones and climbing around the granite boulders scattered everywhere.

My family moved away from South Dakota when I was 15 and I haven’t been back to visit since I was 18.  It was strange to suddenly think about this place after so many years, but I hope I can visit again in the future.

Thinking about the Black Hills, I remembered two songs where they are mentioned in passing:

1. Rocky Raccoon from the White Album by the Beatles.

2. Day of the Locusts from the album New Morning by Bob Dylan.

You may not be as sentimental about the Black Hills as I, but at least you can enjoy the music 😉

6 thoughts on “Paha Sapa”

  1. I love the Black Hills. Still have some Black Hills Gold in my jewelery box from when we passed through South Dakota on our cross-country trip when I was in the 6th grade.

  2. Hey Betsy, I’m glad they’re still on your mind after all these years. When you commented I remembered that Black Hills Gold comes in those different colors, like pink and green. Am I right or am I imagining that?

  3. You’re right about the Black Hills gold coming in 3 colors: gold, pink, and green. Used to sell lots of it in the gift shop! We went out West this summer but didn’t make it out to the Black Hills, but we need to make a trip out there soon. Maybe next summer.

Leave a Reply

