The Wreck of the Old 97

I opened up my homepage today to see that on this day in 1903 was the day of the wreck of the old 97, the mail train that was headed to Spencer, North Carolina.  Read all about it here.

Of course I knew about this event from the old folk ballad titled The Wreck of the Old 97.  So after reading about the wreck, I had to listen to a few versions of this classic folk song.

Here’s Woody Guthrie singing a version of it.

The first time I heard this song, it was on a Ramblin’ Jack Elliott LP in my basement in Ohio.

And of course we had to have some Johnny Cash. Here he is performing the Wreck of the Old 97 at San Quentin.

Hope you enjoy them.  Any other good railroad songs you know?

1 thought on “The Wreck of the Old 97”

  1. You seem to have forgotten that your dad played this all the time on his guitar! I can remember him playing it for you before you could talk!

Leave a Reply

