Letters

Last Friday, I send a selective Twitter message out on Twitter and Facebook asking people if they would like me to write a real letter to them. On Facebook I later clarified that I would like to send letters to anyone outside of Vietnam. I got six responses with addresses (which kinda reveals how much people care about pen-and-ink letters).

Without listing names, here is some basic information about the six people who will be receiving letters from me soon:

-Two are relatives of mine.
-Two are people I became friends with in college.
-Two are people that I met from my work in Vietnam.
-All are in North America.
-Four are female and two are male.

In the order that I received addresses, I will be writing and mailing letters to those respective people (as time allows – I’m a busy man).

Oh, and the first letter was mailed today from the historic Saigon Post Office, designed by none other than Gustave Eiffel (there’s a famous tower named after him, if you forgot).

If you’re one of the people who receives a letter from me, be sure to let me know when you received it and I’ll track the amount of time it takes for letters to travel from Saigon to other various destinations.

Oh, and write letters. They are so much more personal and emotive than emails, texts, tweets, etc. Go dust off your notebook and happy writing!

Update (6/22/11)

I mailed another letter today on my lunch break. Who could it be to?

Update (6/27/11)

Another letter is in the hands of the Vietnamese postal system. Let me know when it reaches you.

3 thoughts on “Letters”

  1. it’s a great idea. and so true. letters are great, i send them ALL THE TIME. From my experience, it takes between one to three weeks for them to arrive to their destination. No rhyme or reason really. I sent a letter a week to my boyfriend in the UK. He got the first one exactly two weeks after I sent it, and then three in one week (one of which had been sent less than a week before)

    I also send letters to my friends and family and they love it. Great project, i fully support it!

  2. Great idea! I prefer letters than emails, even it may took longer than email, and will be very good if by handwriting.

  3. yes, I’ve always been meaning to write letters. I like to write them to my grandparents, but mostly I send them little cards with some writing in them, updating them on what I’m up to. I don’t know if those count as actual letters, but they’re handwritten!

Leave a Reply

