Plans for the Fall

Many of you who know my wife and I are aware of the big change that is coming up in our lives. But for those who don’t know what’s up, or are a bit fuzzy on the particulars, I thought I’d lay out some details to set the record straight, so to speak.

My wife, Ngân, has received a scholarship from the Fulbright Program and will study her master’s degree in international studies at the University of Oregon starting in September. I have decided to go with her while she studies and find a job in Oregon during this time. We are both excited about this big change in our lives, but also a bit stressed with the moving aspect of it.

Ngân, who has never been to the U.S., will be experiencing some culture shock, for sure. And I will likely experience the same. However, we are tough, smart and tenacious people and are looking forward to this challenge.

To all of my friends in Vietnam, I will miss you terribly.

To all of my friends who might be along our travel route, I hope we can meet up.

As one final note, we will not be immigrating to the U.S. The Fulbright Program is administered by the U.S. Department of State, and Ngân has signed an agreement that she will return to Vietnam after her studies are completed.

Lots of changes, lots of excitement and lots of great things lie in wait for our future.

Travel plans are as follows:
-Ngân will travel to Massachusetts in early August for a month of intensive English training and orientation.
-I will fly into Virginia in mid August.
-We will be in Ohio in late August / early September.
-We will take a road trip / move to Eugene, Oregon in early September and arrive there before classes start.

7 thoughts on “Plans for the Fall”

  1. Good luck. It’ll be a great adventure – and nice to see the homeland through someone else’s eyes. It’ll also no doubt mean you return to Vietnam looking at it with fresh(er) eyes and enjoying its very different appeal. I actually can’t think of a more perfect way to do.

    You’ll have a blast. Any chance you can get your wife to blog?

  2. Congratulations to Ngan on getting the Fulbright. I’m sure you must be really proud of her.

    Did you ever think moving to Vietnam would land you in Oregon? Whether you want to be there for the next few years while Vietnam keeps marching on, just remember there are some people who would love to be in your place.

    1. Could not have imagined this unfolding when I moved back here. I’m really excited to see a new part of the U.S., and I’m sure after two years I’ll be equally excited to come back to Vietnam. I expect an effective public transit system in Saigon by then 😉

Leave a Reply

