Trying to be profound at the age of 30

I just turned 30 a couple days ago. I thought that I’d have something utterly profound to write about as this milestone approached this month, but nothing specific emerged from my pondering. Then I thought about lists. Easy to write and sometimes profound. I began to wonder what I’ve done with these thirty years, which ten years ago seemed an eon away.

Some things I’ve done in 30 years:
-Stayed alive (I wasn’t always sure I’d make it)
-Completed a BA and an MBA
-Gotten married
-Learned a second language
-Started smoking, then quit smoking
-Started jogging
-Lived 14 of my 30 years in foreign countries

Some goals for the next ten years:
-Get a stable job/career
-Run several marathons
-Live more years in foreign countries
-Continue to travel the world
-Get my pilot’s license
-Get a Ph.D.

So there, that should keep me busy for at least ten more years. Maybe when I blog again on this subject at the age of 40 I’ll have something more profound to say.

Leave a Reply

